Photography Thread

A lot of my Platoon will already know, but I'm a very keen photographer. Just got my first paid shoot today, so I guess I'm now semi-professional. I'd love to see if there are other photographer's (amateur or otherwise) in the unit, so we can use this thread to discuss photography, cameras, contacts and post some of our work. :)

I know for a fact SSgt. Bergstrom likes to take a snap. There must be more of you! Regardless of experience or quality.

Comments

• edited April 2015

Here's some I recently re-edited in Adobe Lightroom. Let me know what you think, or if you have any questions :)

Mountain Town

enter image description here

• Some fantastic photographs there 2Lt. I love the light captured within them and the final photo in the hall is stunning. Keep up the great work Sir!

• Thanks, PFC. I love that shot too. I specifically made it so that the golds at the top were saturated, and the darker colours at the bottom less vibrant. Anyone who ever goes to this place, the Savoia Palace in Turin, will see that there is so much flippin' gold in that building it beggars belief! So I made the photo exaggerate the reality of the room to make a point :)

• Haha you got me there 2Lt!

I like the second last one - the beach - seems very Turner-esque. I'm a more abstract photographer so mine tend to lack clarity (possibly also because they're all shot on an iphone "shoot with what you got, not what you want").

• Are we counting videography?

• Some stunning photos there SSgt.! Its all about using what you got, and modern phones are really cracking at taking a good pic. You use light really wonderfully to get creative effect! You should never let lack of clarity belie good composition, which you clearly have an innate understanding of! Especially the last picture, beautiful leading lines.