[Civil Affairs] AAR of the Month - Charlie Company

CAR 59

The sun was high in the Altis sky when I arrived at the station, Chief of Police Sung was a hard ass for punctuality and it was already pushing noon. Yeah my boss is a police chief, which means I’m a cop. And my partner? Lt. Col. Wheatley, but in the Force we just call him Wheatles. He watches my back when we’re out on the beat looking for what’s low down and dirty on the streets of Neochori.

After the day’s brief by Chief Sung, we stood in the parking lot eyeing our rides. SWAT got the big hunk of armor plate that was the MRAP while us beat cops had to make due with rusty HMMVs. The jokers up in Traffic got a copter, a real sports car in the sky. They don’t do much arresting but they make a helluva chopped salad.

“Well we got Car 45, 68 or… 59?” the choice was clear but we still went through the motions “59” we said in unison. It was an old joke, but old jokes are the glue that keeps together the fabric of your mind while you’re faced with the hardest criminals that Altis has to offer. You crack some bad ones cause you’ve seen the worst.

Wheatles spun the wheel and gave it the gas as we pulled onto the road. The throaty grumble of 59 once more graced the streets. “HQ this is Car 59 - on patrol and heading southbound towards Harborfront” I called out over the radio.

As we cruised past the Blue Burger, the stinking sour sweet smell of fermenting grease permeated the car and I cranked my window closed. The pungent odor clung to my uniform and vest, not the fashionable kind, the big Kevlar one that says POLICE on it. Though I suppose in my line of work, that’s haute couture. “Stops bullets, not foul odors” I grumbled, my olfactory response going to DEFCON 1. “Barely stop bullets at that” joked Wheatles. Thankfully we’d not had to test our vests, though the City assured us they’d stop all but the most dangerous of pokes.